(Update) Almost done with a semester

To sum it all up, I’d have to say that my first semester at WPI has been a unique experience. I have never had the same unbridled freedom nor the same number of responsibilities to handle before. Making new friends, engineering healthy relationships, getting out of my comfort zone, have all had to happen in the span of a few months. Surprisingly, I did not experience the “culture shock”, that I was told repeatedly about by so many people. It is understandable to assume that people from different countries ought to share different views and beliefs and communicate differently with each other. However, it is a step in the right direction that the cultures from different regions seem to have interspersed with each other, creating a hybrid that facilitates communication and reduces the risks of misunderstandings, unintentional offences, etc.

As far as academics are concerned, these few months have been somewhat uneventful. This is because it included mostly introductory courses in mathematics, physics, humanities and computer science. However, I am optimistic about the intellectual challenge that my future classes will pose. After all, learning is about widening horizons and not something repetitive.

People from back home ask me about what my extra-curricular activities are. Although I have tried my hand in a few club sports (racquetball, squash), I am yet to find a team sport that I like. There are a few other academically inclined clubs that I’m involved in, however, I will save these for another blog post as they require pretty detailed explanations in order to fully understand what they do.

Here’s an interesting read that I absolutely loved:
On the Cruelty of Really Teaching Computer Science

3 thoughts on “(Update) Almost done with a semester

    1. Hello Krupa aunty, Thank you so much! It’s great to know that you found out about my blog. I’m going to try to write more often. I hope everyone is doing well back home. Convey my wishes to Shreesha uncle as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

